A Farewell to The Theatre

Everything You Ever Wanted To Say Or Read About Music

A Farewell to The Theatre

Postby NewGoldDream » Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:14 pm

An old friend drops by on a Saturday night with a stack of records under his arm. Some music is old and some new, you greet him anxiously knowing he has a newly found gem or an old lost classic. He's the type of old friend whether you haven't seen in years, or saw him last week, within minutes you're caught up like you never lost a beat. You trust in his choice of new music, saving you a lot of effort from trying to weed out the riff from the raff.

I am new to The Theatre and all it has to offer.. from the posts on bulletin boards to the chatroom..David Marsden plays the music you want to look up and find out who the artist is. I don't now of anyone else listing songs and artists and has a back catalog as deep as in the Theatre. For that matter, who even plays song you would bother looking up if it was listed?

I guess I'm one of the lucky ones who lives close by, so while I was on delivery I did a quick drive by and wave to see David at his work. He waves back and even makes mention of it during his show. When in the chatroom you can tell David is a very genuine caring guy, always greeting everyone personally and you feel welcomed to the room as if you were like family. There is a great bunch of people in the chatroom with a common love of good music and a real connection with David.

I am just finding out about David and The Theatre right at the tail end....and I feel like I am going to lose touch with that buddy who showed up with his stack of records. As for the people who have known David for years... I can't imagine how badly they feel but I know David will find a way continue to be a big part in their lives. I was just an occasional Saturday night listener, when I had free time or just taking a break from paperwork. Maybe David has found a way to keep in touch with us all...daily.